is-whey-gluten-free

Is Whey Gluten-Free?

Is Whey Protein Gluten Free

Is whey gluten-free? Yes, there is whey protein in the market, which is gluten-free, but the answer might vary based on the manufacturer of the particular whey protein powder.

Not all the whey protein powders are gluten-free.

If gluten is your concern, make sure to carefully examine the label of the whey protein powder to discern whether or not your product contains gluten.

is-whey-gluten-free

Whey is one of the most common sorts of protein utilized in protein powder, and it has many benefits.

Whey proteins come on three different forms they are whey concentrate, whey isolate, and whey hydrolysate.

Most of these whey proteins are gluten-free and are also safer for people with celiac disease or people who are in a gluten-free diet.

Whey protein is easy for your body to digest and helps to promote muscle growth, reduce exercise-related injury, and improve athletic performance.

In this article, we will discuss different kinds of gluten-free whey protein powders and how we can identify them.

Gluten-free whey protein powders

What kind of protein powders should you purchase if you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity?

So, let’s took a look at the list of the best gluten-free protein powders in the market.

  • Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 24 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Legion Whey+ Whey Isolate Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 22 grams of protein per scoop.
  • BiPro 100% Whey Protein Isolate. This protein powder contains 20 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Sunburst Superfoods Organic Brown Rice Protein. This protein powder contains 24 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey Protein. This protein powder contains 30 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Opportuniteas Grass Fed Whey Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 27 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Bodylogix Natural Whey Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 24 grams of protein per scoop.
  • GNC Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein. This protein powder contains 24 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Sunwarrior Classic Plus Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 18 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Isopure Natural Flavor. This protein powder contains 25 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Labrada 100% Whey Protein. This protein powder contains 26 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Naked Whey Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 25 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Quest Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 22 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Organic Vegan Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 20 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Genuine Muscle Milk Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 32 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Raw Grass-Fed Whey Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 20 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Designer Protein LITE. This protein powder contains 10 grams of protein per scoop.
  • Natural Force Organic Whey Protein Powder. This protein powder contains 20 grams of protein per scoop.

Protein powders make great additions to smoothies and shakes, and a few people use them as a part of a weight-loss program.

When mixed with your choice of milk, juice, or maybe water, they can provide needed nutrients, and may serve as snacks, meal substitutes, and on-the-go energy boosters.

How to find if your whey protein powder is gluten-free

Gluten is a protein found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye, and while the majority of protein powders on the market depend on milk-based proteins to provide the bulk of their nutrients, you also sometimes will see products that contain gluten.

Besides, protein powders are highly processed, which means they may carry a significant risk for gluten cross-contamination.

Powders like those that used to help build muscle usually contain additional ingredients such as flavoring, stabilizers, or preservatives other than just whey.

You must check the ingredients list of any whey powder in the back label before buying it to ensure that it is gluten-free.

Reading the ingredients mentioned in the label makes one more comfortable to identify gluten-free whey protein powders.

As manufacturers use different ingredients to create each flavor of whey protein powder, be sure to double-check the label of each different flavor before using.

You can also opt to choose protein powders that have been certified gluten-free by a third-party organization, such as the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO).

Takeaway

Whey protein powder is gluten-free as whey protein itself doesn’t have gluten in it.

However, many whey protein powders may be cross-contaminated in industrial processing or may have added gluten.

So, if you have a gluten allergy or if you are following a gluten-free diet, do some research before purchasing a whey protein powder.

You can find the product information on the back label of the product.

Whey protein is an easy and effective way to add more protein to your diet.

It helps you to promote muscle growth, reduce exercise-related injury, and improve performance.

 

If you found this post helpful, then be sure to sign up for our free newsletter to get more.

Just enter your email below to get started!

 

RELATED ARTICLES:

20 BEST BICEPS EXERCISES

15-BEST-BACK-EXERCISES

Chest and Triceps Workout For Building Muscle

 

REFERENCES:

Can You Eat Things That Contain Whey on a Gluten-Free Diet?; SOURCE: Livestrong

Is Whey Protein Gluten-Free? + 7 More Whey FAQs Answered; SOURCE: Myprotein

Does Whey Powder Contain Gluten?; SOURCE: Healthyeating

 

 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *